Tips for Starting a Bullet Journal

LIFE

Last summer I tried to start a Bullet Journal, using all the best tips from Pinterest and starting out with super complex daily page layouts. Because I was going to be cool. I was going to have a bullet journal and it was going to be awesome from the start.

Needless to say that didn’t work out too well.

How to successfully start a stress-free bullet journal

Instead, in the fall I got myself a normal daily planner and did it all that way. I used it to write down that things I needed to do each and every day of the week and it worked. It worked really well.

I didn’t have the stress of being perfect at first and I just had to write inside the lines.

Well, after I ran out of pages int he journal, I started up that bullet journal again. But this time, I was determined to keep it up.

This time, I didn’t place any stress on making the page layouts, fancy or unnecessarily crazy. I just wrote down what I needed to do that day. Made lists of cool things, of books I read, whatnot.

So that’s where I figured out how to successfully start, and continue, a low-stress bullet journal.

Step 1: Obtain Journal. I just grabbed on out of my collection of empty journals. It can have lines, or it can not have lines, it doesn’t matter.

Step 2: Make a list of what you have to do today, write the date on top, and don’t try too hard with it.

Step 3: Make a list of whatever you like, whatever pops into your head, whatever you want to remember.

You don’t need a fancy system with an index and all that, just start one and the rest will come slowly on its own.

Sure, my bullet journal isn’t the prettiest, or the fanciest. But that isn’t the point of bullet journals. Bullet journal are supposed to be a place where you can write down anything you want, take up as much space as you want, and organize your mind. So do your bullet journal how you want to do it.

~Nyra

Leave a Reply

