Minimizing Goals

LIFE

My mom told me about this class she took about 8 years ago. It was a class about goals and how to successfully make and follow goals. Of course she told me this when I was having a psychological crisis about not following my goals, and the idea really helped me. She told me about this super successful way to make goals. There are a couple steps.

  1. What/who/where do you want to be in a year? How do you want to change? What do you want to be different?
    1. This can also be any long term-ish unit of time. Like 5 years, or by the time I finish high school, etc.
  2. Now what could you do in 6 months that could have you getting close to this goal? What could you do that would get you halfway there?
  3. Then what can you do in 3 months time to be working your way to the 6 months goal?
  4. Now, finally, what can you do in 1 month that would have you working towards your 3 month goals?

What’s really cool about this system is the secret 5th step

(5).  Once you finish the first month, regardless of if you reached your goals, look forward again to how you want to change, just like you did in step 1 and repeat. Sure, everything might be almost the same, but each month you’ll be looking even farther ahead and working up even closer to that goal!

A part of this goal making system is to make the big goals manageable and small. It makes them do-able and you actually get them done. It might take a few tries for you to get the specifics right about your goals for 1 month, as in what you can actually do in that amount of time, but it’s okay.

No matter what it’s okay if you reach your goals, or if you don’t. The idea of this is to start moving towards them. You tried reaching those goals, and they just weren’t realistic, so you’ll try again.

I’ve always had trouble making and sticking to goals, but I’m really hoping this system works for me. I haven’t even finished my first month yet, but I already love it!

Of course everyone is different and you have to find a system that works for you. Some things just don’t motivate people, but others do. Try it out!

~Nyra

Leave a Reply

